A Tradition Since 1843




The Edwardsville Municipal Band, under the direction of James Kerfoot, will present its ninth and final concert of the summer season on Thursday, August 26th at 8:00 P.M. in City Park near the Library at 112 S. Buchanan Street in Edwardsville, IL 62025.  All concerts are free to the public.

This week’s concert features the flute section in playing Flute Flight by Ralph Hermann.  Also featured in this concert is long time band member Sarah Rigdon as piccolo soloist in the Arthur Pryor classic The Whistler And Her Dog.  She will also be the soloist in the concert ending march, The Stars And Stripes Forever by John Philip Sousa.  The concert opens with the Karl King march, Gallant Zouaves, and will be followed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s The Marriage Of Figaro Overture.  Rick Acuncius will direct the band in Irving Berlin Showstoppers, which includes the signature tunes “Puttin’ on the Ritz,” “Cheek to Cheek,” “Shaking the Blues Away,” “Steppin’ Out With My Baby,” and “There’s No Business Like Show Business;” and the first half will close out with another Sousa march, The U.S. Field Artillery.  Rick Acuncius opens the second half of the concert with Star Wars: The Marches by John Williams, which includes “Star Wars (Main Theme),” “Parade of the Ewoks,” “The Imperial March (Darth Vader’s Theme),” “Augie’s Great Municipal Band,” and “The Throne Room (and End Title).”  James Curnow’s American Triptych follows, which includes the Americana selections “America,” “The Lovely Ohio,” “He’s Gone Away,” and “Old Dan Tucker.”  The Broadway selection this evening will be Selections from Carousel.  The musical score by Richard Rodgers includes “Carousel Waltz,” “Mister Snow,” “Blow High, Blow Low,” “If I Loved You,” “June is Bustin’ Out All Over,” “What’s the Use of Wond’rin’,” “A Real Nice Clambake,” and “You’ll Never Walk Alone.”

The concession stand will be operated this week by the Edwardsville High School Band Boosters.

For more information, visit the band web site at www.edwband.com.

Contact:  James Kerfoot 618/973-7318





Back to top of page

Copyright copyright logo2014-2021 For The Record Productions